GE5

INTRODUCTION:

The modern period of Bengali literature can roughly be categorized into six phases. First phase: The era of prose (1800-1850). During this time, the Christian missionaries and Sanskrit-educated Bengali scholars worked to induce modernism through prose. Second phase: The era of development (1850-1900)

OBJECTIVES:

- a)To make students aware about basic textual nuances of Medieval and Modern Bengali Literature.
- b)To make students aware about the evolution of the history of Bengali Literature and Culture.
- c) To give the idea of the inextricable interconnection between Literature and Culture

OUTCOMES:

To give basic ideas about Religious Literature and Social values of this form of Literature

GE 5
Shastri 3rd year (Total-Credit 4)

5th Semester

UNIT	CONTENT	CREDITS/HOURS
UNIT: I	Novel Srikanth – Saratchanda Cottopadhyay (Part 1) উপন্যাস শ্রীকান্ত- শরংচন্দ্র চট্টোপাধ্যায় (প্রথম পর্ব)	01
UNIT: II	Premendra Mitra'ter Srestha golpo a) Punnam b) Sudhu kenari c) Hoyto d) Sagar Songome e) Mohanagar (প্রমেন্দ্র মিত্রের শ্রেষ্ঠ গল্প অ) পূল্লাম আ) শুধু কেরানী ই) হ্মতো ঈ) সাগরসংগম উ) মহানগর	01
UNIT: III	Bangla Sahityer Itihas	01

	(Madhya Yug) Chandimangal, Dharmamangal, Chaitanyacaritamrita, Abubad kabya, Vaishnava Padavali, literary works of Arakan dynasty, Annadamangal)	
	বাংলা সাহিত্যের ইতিহাস (মধ্যযুগ চন্তীমঙ্গল, ধর্মমঙ্গল, চৈতন্যচরিতামৃত, অনুবাদ কাব্য, বৈষ্ণব পদাবলী, আরাকান রাজসভার সাহিত্যকৃতি, অন্নদামঙ্গল)	
UNIT: IV	Bengali Drama Bisharjon - Rabindranath Tagore বাংলা নাটক বিসর্জন—রবীন্দ্রনাথ ঠাকুর	01

Reference Text Book:

- 1. Srikanth Saratchandra Chattopadhyay (Part 1)
- Premendra Mitra's Srestha Golpo Editd Saurin Bhattacharya
- 3. Bangla Sahityer Sonkhipto Itihas—Bhudev Chowdhury
- 4. Bangala Sahityer Itihas Sukumar Sen
- 5. Bangla sahityer Itihas Asit Kumar Bandyopadhyay
- Adi madhya Bangla Sahityer Itihas Tapan Kumar Chattopadhyay
- 7. Bisharjan Rabindranath Tagore

নির্ধারিত পাঠ্যগ্রন্থ

- 1) শ্রীকান্ত- শরৎকান্ত চট্টোপাধ্যায় (প্রথম পর্ব)
- 2)প্রেমেন্দ্র মিত্রের শ্রেষ্ঠ গল্প—সম্পাদনা সৌরীন ভট্টাচার্য
- 3)বাংলা সাহিত্যের সংক্ষিপ্ত ইতিহাস—ভূদেব চৌধুরী
- 4) বাঙ্গালা সাহিত্যের ইতিহাস- সুকুমার সেন
- 5)বাংলা সাহিত্যের সম্পূর্ণ ইতিবৃত্ত—অসিত কুমার বন্দোপাধ্যায়
- 6) আদি—মধ্য বাংলা সাহিত্যের ইতিহাস– তপন কুমার চট্টোপাধ্যায়
- 7) विप्रर्जन—त्रवीन्प्रनाथ ठीकूत